Facilitating at a Pop up Maker space

Before I joined Science Centre as an intern/temporary staff, words like “maker” and “tinkering” were at the bottom of my word bank. An Arts student like me  saw the beauty of Science through simple activities like “Paper circuits” and “Bristle bolts”. I saw the pure Physics that I painstakingly studied in secondary 4 come alive.

Barely 3 weeks into work and I feel that if I had been introduced to ‘Making’ since young, I would have been a more creative person who thinks out of the box.  The life of kids these days revolves around academics and the computer. They are given very minimal opportunities to hone their thinking skills but these are the kind of workshops which create innovative people.

Basic Paper Circuit

Basic Paper Circuit

While explaining to me what paper circuits are and how to make them, Dr Kiruthika made the paper circuit above. How many of us know that aluminium foil and aluminium tapes are alternatives of wires, because they conduct electricity? There is a huge gap between practical and theory.

Students who attended the Pop up Maker space at Poi Ching Primary School used that simple concept of electricity and made interesting things with it.

Another maker, Priyanka Gupta – founder of Just Love Crafts, came down to Tampines to teach the bursary award recipients quilling. Making is just so beautiful, it really feeds one’s soul. Moreover, quilling is not only for relaxation purposes ,it is useful as anything from decorative items to jewelry can be made using paper. Yes, you read it correctly, PAPER.

LEDs was incorporated into a quilled flower

LED was incorporated into a quilled flower

I saw the joy in children, parents and grandparents when they made items by themselves.

Grandmother qilled her own  butterfly

Grandmother quilled her own butterfly

Mother and children taking the idea of a basic ciruit and making intersting things

Mother and children taking the idea of a basic circuits and making interesting things

Look at the smiles on their faces! Making makes one happy indeed!

Look at the smiles on their faces! ‘Making’ makes people happy indeed

It was my pleasure to see people’s face light up upon making their own items and learning things which are not in their textbooks.

The pop up makerspace at Poi Ching Primary school was a real eye opener for me.

2 responses to “Facilitating at a Pop up Maker space

  1. Great to read that you are enjoying! This reminds me of my thoughts when I first joined the Science Centre. Learning through hands-on activities and making really makes a difference! Until now, I’m still enjoying. 🙂

  2. Keep up the good work. Nice to see young minds like yours realizing the joy of seeing happiness in others.

Leave a Reply

